About Thanet District Council

The Isle of Thanet is the major part of the Thanet District. Formed over 7000 years ago, the isle is separated from the mainland by the Wantsum Channel.

The District was formed in 1974, by the addition of the area over which was once the Wantsum Channel, including the settlement of Sarre. It includes the towns of Margate Broadstairs and Ramsgate as well as a number of smaller pretty villages.

The names of the civil parishes located in the district are:

  • Acol
  • Birchington
  • Cliffsend
  • Manston
  • Minster
  • Monkton
  • St Nicholas-at-Wade